Did Removing the Timeline Really Happen
“take out the timeline”
Summary
Google Maps has confirmed that the Timeline feature has been taken out, resulting in the loss of location history for many users. The removal is due to an accidental deletion and subsequent discontinuation of the service.
Sources 60 searched
- Did Google Maps accidentally delete users’ historical location data?
Over the last few weeks though, many users started noticing that their Timeline data was missing. After an investigation, Google recently confirmed that Maps had accidentally deleted that data for many devices.
- How to Clear Your Google Maps Search History in 2026 (Full Guide With Screenshots) | Security.org
If you clear your Google Maps search history, only what you looked up on Google Maps gets removed. Visits that are saved to your Google Maps Timeline won’t be removed.
- Google Maps Timeline History Missing? Here's Why:
Google has announced major updates to its Timeline feature. These changes are crucial for anyone who relies on this tool to track their location history and routes, especially since they can lead to your Google Maps Timeline history missing.
- Of all the features Google has killed, I will miss this one the most
Google has done well to replace this unsung feature, but things will never be the same, regardless. ... A few months ago, I opened Google Maps and went to check my Timeline only to get the dreaded notification that my Timeline was going away ...
- Essential Google Maps Statistics & Trends to Watch in 2026
Google Maps blocked or removed over 170 million policy-violating reviews from 2023 — over 45% more than in 2022.
- Google Maps Statistics 2026: Trends Revealed • XtendedView
In August 2024, Google reduced pricing for the Google Maps Platform for India by up to 70%, making it more accessible for local developers. In mid‑2025, Google announced the removal of the social‑followers feature within Google Maps, shifting ...
- Oops: Google says it might have deleted your Maps Timeline data - Ars Technica
Google has been investigating the problem, and the news isn’t good. In an email sent out over the weekend, Google confirmed what many already feared: Maps has accidentally deleted Timeline data on countless devices.
- I had no idea how much Google Maps was tracking me until I found these settings
Scroll down and under Timeline, tap on the Turn off and delete activity button. In the message that appears, scroll down and tap on Next. Finally, tap on Delete. This ensures that Google Maps isn't keeping a track of all the places that you ...
- Don’t lose your Google Maps Timeline location history | The Intelligence
But last year, in an effort to increase the level of privacy and control around all of this, Google switched to a new setup that stores its location data only on your individual Android device — instead of syncing it to your account and allowing it to automatically stay with you no matter what device you’re using at any given moment. ➜ And, as Android Intelligence reader and The Intelligence Insider @DickieT reminded me, that means you now get opted out of the Maps Timeline feature and lose all of your existing Maps Timeline data each and every time you move into a new Android phone — unless you deliberately take a few minutes to opt back in and pull your previous data over.